SEYMOUR LIPKIN ARTISTIC DIRECTOR

FESTIVAL ARTISTS:

Violin
DAVID BOWLIN
RONALD COPES
LAURIE SMUKLER
MARK SOKOL

Viola
DORIS LEDERER
KATHERINE MURDOCK
IRA WELLER

Cello
JERRY GROSSMAN
DMITRY KOUZOV
JOEL KROSNICK BARBARA STEIN MALLOW

Piano
XAK BJERKEN
JANE COOP
SEYMOUR LIPKIN

Guest Artists
MARK HILL, oboe
AMPHION QUARET
ATTACCA QUARTET
FORMOSA QUARTET
A FAR CRY CHAMBER ORCHESTRA

PROGRAM ONE
Friday, June 21 @ 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, June 22 @ 7:30 p.m.
Attacca Quartet
Schroeder, Tokunaga, violin; Fleming, viola; Yee, cello
Haydn:
Quartet No. 25 in C major, Op. 20, No. 2
Quartet No. 55 in D major, Op. 71, No. 2
Quartet No. 62 in C major, Op. 76, No. 3 “Emperor”
Friday evenings @ 7:30 p.m.
Sunday afternoons @ 4:00 p.m.

PROGRAM TWO
Friday, June 28 and Sunday, June 30
Haydn: Piano trio No.16 in D Major, Hob.XV/16
Bowlin, Kouzov, Coop
Beethoven: Sonata for cello and piano, No. 5 in D major, Op 102, No.2
Krosnick, Lipkin
Harbison: November 19, 1828 for piano quartet
Bowlin, Lederer, Kouzov, Lipkin
Brahms: Piano trio in C major, Op. 87
Smukler, Krosnick, Coop

PROGRAM THREE
Friday, July 5 and Sunday, July 7
Schubert:
Sonata for piano 4-hands, D. 812, “Grand Duo”
Coop, Lipkin
String quintet in C major, Op. 163 D. 956
Smukler, Bowlin, Lederer, Kouzov, Krosnick
Discussion with performers after the concerts.

PROGRAM FOUR
Friday, July 12 and Sunday, July 14
Beethoven: String trio in G major, Op. 9, No.1
Bowlin, Lederer, Kouzov
Debussy: Sonata for violin and piano
Smukler, Coop
Carter: Elegy for viola and piano
Lederer, Coop
Rachmaninoff: Sonata for cello and piano in G minor, Op. 19
Kouzov, Lipkin

PROGRAM FIVE
Friday, July 19 and Sunday, July 21
Brahms: Sonata for viola and piano in F minor, Op. 120, No. 1
Lederer, Coop
Martinu: Duo No.1
Bowlin, Kouzov
Schubert: Piano trio No. 2 in E-flat major, D. 919
Smukler, Krosnick, Lipkin

PROGRAM SIX
Friday, July 26 and Sunday, July 28
Bach: Viola da gamba Sonata in D major, BWV 1028
Grossman, Bjerken
Mozart: Oboe quartet in F major, K. 370
Hill, Copes, Murdock, Grossman
Klughardt: Schilflieder for oboe, viola and piano, Op. 28
Hill, Murdock, Bjerken
Dvorák: Piano quartet in E-flat, Op 87, B. 162
Copes, Murdock, Mallow, Lipkin

PROGRAM SEVEN
Friday, August 2 and Sunday, August 4
Janácek: Pohadka (Fairy Tale)
Grossman, Bjerken
Bartók: Sonata for violin and piano, No.1
Copes, Bjerken
Brahms: Piano quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25
Smukler, Murdock, Mallow, Lipkin
Discussions with performers after the concerts.

PROGRAM EIGHT
Friday, August 9 and Sunday, August 11
Mozart: Sonata in A major, K. 526
Smukler, Lipkin
Beethoven: 12 Variations in F major on a Theme from Mozart’s Magic Flute, Op. 66
Mallow, Bjerken
Ravel: Mother Goose Suite
Bjerken, Lipkin
Schumann: Piano quartet in E-flat, Op. 47
Copes, Murdock, Grossman, Bjerken

PROGRAM NINE
Friday, August 16 and Sunday, August 18
Amphion String Quartet
Hyun, Southern, violin; Lin, viola; Marica, cello
Wolf: Italian Serenade in G major
Janácek: String Quartet No. 2, “Intimate Letters”
Beethoven: String Quartet No. 15 in A minor, Op. 132

PROGRAM TEN
Friday, August 23 and Sunday, August 25
A Far Cry Chamber Orchestra
Stamitz: Sinfonia a 4 in D major, Op. 3, No. 2
Klein: Partita (Trio for violin, viola and cello, arr. by Saudek)
Suk: Serenade for Strings in E-flat major, Op. 6

ACMI FACULTY CONCERT
Wednesday, August 14 @ 7:30 pm
TBA

SEPTEMBER
Sunday, September 15 @ 4:00 p.m.
Formosa String Quartet
Lin, Lee, violin; Chen, viola; Yeh, cello
Mozart: String quart in F major, K. 590
Dana Wilson: Hungarian Folk Songs (2008)
Beethoven: String quartet in B-flat major, Op. 18, N0 6

YOUNG ARTIST CHAMBER MUSIC MARATHONS (54 pieces in 10 concerts)
July 13, Saturday 7:30 p.m.
July 15, Monday 2:00 p.m. & 7:30 p.m.
July 16, Tuesday 2:00 p.m. & 7:30 p.m.
August 7, Wednesday 7:30 p.m.
August 8, Thursday 2:00 p.m. & 7:30 p.m.
August 10, Saturday 2:00 p.m. & 7:30 p.m.

MASTER CLASSES @ 7:30 p.m.
July 3, July 8, July 11, July 29, August 1, August 5

OPEN REHEARSALS for Festival Concerts Fridays @ 9:00 a.m.
June 21, 28; July 5, 12, 19, 26; Aug. 4, 9, 16, 23

Kneisel Hall Children’s Concerts FREE ADMISSION
Wednesdays – Blue Hill Library @ 4:30 p.m.
June 26, July 3, 10, 24, 31; August 7
Saturday – Concert Hall @ 11:00 a.m.: July 21

KNEISEL HALL ON TOUR @ 7:00 p.m.
at SW Harbor: St. Andrews/John Thursday, July 18
at Bangor: All Souls Church Monday, July 22